Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Bulls D-Rose and Taj in Rook/Soph Challenge

Rose, Evans among players in 2010 Rookie Challenge

Bulls guard Derrick Rose , the reigning Rookie of the Year, and Kings superstar-in-training Tyreke Evans , the clear-cut frontrunner for this season's ROY hardware, lead a list of 18 players selected for the 2010 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge to be held on Friday, Feb. 12 at American Airlines Center in Dallas.

The participants were selected by the NBA's assistant coaches, with each team submitting one ballot. The Rook and Sophomore head coaches will be the lead assistants from the 2010 All-Star Game coaching staffs. The team with the best record in each conference as of Jan. 31 gets that honor, though Phil Jackson (Lakers) and Mike Brown (Cavaliers) aren't eligible after coaching last year.

(Note: Dwight Howard and Dwyane Wade's quirky Band-Aids will not make an appearance.)

Joining Rose on the Sophomores: Heat forward Michael Beasley , Clippers guard Eric Gordon , Timberwolves big man Kevin Love , Nets center Brook Lopez , Knicks forward Danilo Gallinari , Thunder guard Russell Westbrook and two Grizzlies: center Marc Gasol and guard O.J. Mayo .

Forward Omri Casspi , 'Reke's Israeli-born teammate in Sacramento, joins him on the Rookie team, as does Bulls forward Taj Gibson , Warriors gunner Stephen Curry , Pistons forward Jonas Jerebko , Bucks guard Brandon Jennings , 'Wolves guard Jonny Flynn , Thunder guard James Harden and Spurs forward/center DeJuan Blair .

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment